Help!

Post Reply
']['HRUS']['
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:36 pm

Help!

Post by ']['HRUS'][' » Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:53 pm

1st off let me thank the guys/gurls at Puffinsoft for this great program. I had (2) 56k accounts for over a year because I couldn't figure out how to make my pc's run mercs behind my router on dsl. Then I discovered this program and VOILA! THANKS FROM THE BOTTOM MY HEART (truly).
Now that I've been using DXPort for 2 years but have moved and am using a cable modem with my Linksys BEFSR41 v4 router
WinXP (svc Pk 2)
any/all firewall's are off
Forwarded ports:
(for dedicated)
80-9999
443
6667
2332-2341
47624

For Port triggering I have entered:
6667 for 28800-29100
6073 for 2300-2400
47624 for 2300-2400
28800 for 2300-2400

I know some/most of these settings are probably wrong but I'm at wits end.
There's also a page for UPnP Forwarding but I have no idea what to do with those.
Keep in mind, ALL of my machines can see/join/play in games either on multi's or Zone, but none can host and have ANYONE join.

I can't for the life of me understand why when I put my machines into the DMZ it doesn't work. Aren't ALL the ports open for it??

Anywayz, If you see anything wrong or have any suggestions i'm extemely open for them!

Thx in advance
']['

wsware
PuffinSoft
PuffinSoft
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 6:25 pm

Re: Help!

Post by wsware » Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:37 am

']['HRUS'][' wrote:I can't for the life of me understand why when I put my machines into the DMZ it doesn't work. Aren't ALL the ports open for it??
']['
You can only put one machine in the DMZ. You should be able to put the server in the DMZ and have other people join and your local clients might have to use the local IP to join.

']['HRUS']['
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:36 pm

Big Negative

Post by ']['HRUS'][' » Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:57 pm

Nope, I've tried putting all my pc's in the DMZ (one at a time of course) and it doesn't work. Does this mean my router sux? or the DMZ on it doesn't work? Also, it seems to me that only one PC can have the same port open. Meaning even though I open port 47624 for 3 machines, only the 1st one has that open port? Thanks for the response.

']['

wsware
PuffinSoft
PuffinSoft
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 6:25 pm

Post by wsware » Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:06 am

You can only forward a port to one machine. That will only confuse the router. Forwarded ports will also override the DMZ. What the DMZ does is send any port that is not mapped to another machine to the IP put in the DMZ.

Post Reply