behind nat-router; only 1 pc can connect

muenstereifel
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:06 pm

behind nat-router; only 1 pc can connect

Post by muenstereifel » Wed Jan 28, 2004 10:07 am

hi there,

i´ve got in trouble. :shock: we don´t play aoc over msn gaming soon but over direct ip. now the problem:
we (2 pc) are behind a smc barricade 7004br (latest firmware) and other players connect through wan. the others can connect to my game, but the other pc in lan can´t.
is there a solution for this problem? :roll: . . . it´s really getting on my nerves . . . :twisted:

wsware
PuffinSoft
PuffinSoft
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 6:25 pm

Post by wsware » Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:02 pm

The only way it will work is if the pc connects through your external IP. BUT, that will only work if your router supports that. Sorry, but that is one of the problems with peer-to-peer DirectPlay games. :?

muenstereifel
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:06 pm

Post by muenstereifel » Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:06 pm

wsware wrote:The only way it will work is if the pc connects through your external IP. BUT, that will only work if your router supports that. Sorry, but that is one of the problems with peer-to-peer DirectPlay games. :?
thanks for this answer! 8) . . . you mean "loop-back"? :roll:

dgnorton
PuffinSoft
PuffinSoft
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 12:32 pm
Contact:

Post by dgnorton » Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:23 pm

Yes, loop-back

muenstereifel
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:06 pm

Post by muenstereifel » Thu Jan 29, 2004 6:18 am

dgnorton wrote:Yes, loop-back
ok, thank you . . . i´ll try it the next time 8)

btw: a very good program 8) :wink:

Ragnarok

Is someone overlooking this!!

Post by Ragnarok » Wed Feb 25, 2004 5:09 pm

I just stumbled on this idea, most likely you guys have thought about it, but anyways.

What if PC1, connects to the zone, hosts a game (assuming that the AOC ports are forwarded by the router to PC1)

people join the room, and then PC1 lauches the game. Now PC2 joins in by IP using, the internal IP (i.e. 198.162.x..x of PC1), since the router doesnt support loopback.

I got 2 comps behind a Linksys BEFW11S4 ver 2 (latest firmware) and did the above and was able to get the two machines into a game (total 8 players)

Hope this helps
Ragnarok

wsware
PuffinSoft
PuffinSoft
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 6:25 pm

Post by wsware » Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:20 am

Usually the other players will not see PC2.. Are you saying this actually worked on that setup?

dUBLe E
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 2:42 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

HUH? YOU SURE?

Post by dUBLe E » Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:04 pm

i also got a Linksys model BEFW11S4. I tried that idea before and it does not work...

Ragnarok

Yes it did work

Post by Ragnarok » Mon Mar 01, 2004 2:14 pm

And Yes it did work.

The catch is that PC2 cannot play on the zone by itself(since all ports are forwarded to PC1)

and PC1 has to host. I dont think AOC uses peer to peer communication (correct me if I'm wrong!)

Assuming that i see no reason for PC2 to be talking to any other manchine other than PC1 (inside the LAN)

Hope this helps
Ragnarok

dUBLe E
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 2:42 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by dUBLe E » Mon Mar 01, 2004 8:42 pm

explain what you exactly did in detail...so i can try it...

wsware
PuffinSoft
PuffinSoft
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 6:25 pm

Post by wsware » Tue Mar 02, 2004 9:15 am

ohhhh... AOC thought you were talking about AOE or AOK.. yes this makes sence now. AOC must be client server in stead of the sucky peer2peer. The same thing works with MW4.

dUBLe E
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 2:42 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by dUBLe E » Tue Mar 02, 2004 3:44 pm

AOC=Age of Empire Conq Expan
AOK=Age of Kings
AOE=Age of Empires

RIGHT??

wsware
PuffinSoft
PuffinSoft
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 6:25 pm

Post by wsware » Tue Mar 02, 2004 3:54 pm

hmm.. wonder if they changed something

Ragnarok

Detailed steps i did

Post by Ragnarok » Tue Mar 02, 2004 4:36 pm

Yes that is right

AOC = Age of Kings Conquerors expansion

My setup

PC1 (192.168.1.100) for eg
Win XP Home
DX 9

PC2 (192.168.1.200) for eg
W2K
DX8.1

Router
BEFW11S4 ver 2
Firmware version 1.45, Feb 28 2003


Steps to do:

1. Get the latest firmware (the above mentioned) (i am not sure if this is needed, Scott recommends not to upgrade untill you really need it).

2. Port forwarding

2300-2400 TCP & UDP PC1
6073 TCP & UDP PC1
47624 TCP & UDP PC1

With this setup you can get PC1 playing on the zone (hosting and joining)

3. Try PC2 (Optional, just to make sure PC2 is ok)
Forward the above ports to PC2. Make sure PC2 can do the same that PC1 did (i mean joining and hosting on the zone)

4. Try a LAN game
In PC1 host a LAN game, then go to PC2, join the game and see if it works. Usually it works (except on one of my machines :( )

5. Now forward back the above ports to PC1 (if Step 3 was performed)

6. Go to the zone on PC1.

7. Host a game, and wait till you have enough players, and then click launch. You will see the game screen with different players.

8. Now at this point tell the person in PC2 to look for a LAN game. If he cant find any tell him to ip in the local ip of PC1 (192.168.1.100) in this case
The LAN option works all the time.

9. Once he finds the game, click join, and it should bring him into the player list along with other ppl.
I do not get any 30 pings here. Scott pointed out that PC2 would have 30 ping.

10. Voila, the game starts.

I have played a lot of games like this recently

Lemme know if you still have questions.

Ragnarok

dUBLe E
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 2:42 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by dUBLe E » Wed Mar 03, 2004 2:32 pm

hhhmmmm, seems like a good idea...ill try it out...

however this means that whenever PC2 wants to play on the Zone...it must have the ports reopened (forwarded)...right?

i think thas right...

thanks

Post Reply